Forest of Fate - Frequently Asked Questions
Got stuck? Have a question about a particular rule? This FAQ should help guide you through any problems you might face while navigating the Forest.
I'm supposed to become panicked, but there is no panicked status?
This is a misprint in the first edition of the Story Book. The correct status is called "Reckless", and reduces care by one point. This was corrected in v2.1 of the story book, which you can download here.
If you're using the Deluxe Story Book available as part of the Kickstarter campaign, you can download a printable insert to serve as a reminder of this issue here.
The rulebook says I should have 12 Skill cards, but I only have six?
I am facing the Torrent encounter, but the outcome text doesn't make any sense?
This is a misprint in the first edition of the game. The Torrent card incorrectly shows the same numbers as The Dark Web encounter.
The Digital Story Book will prompt you to clarify which encounter you're currently facing for both of these cards. This has also been accounted for in v2.2 of the PDF Story Book with some additional prompts. You can download the latest copy here.
If you're using the Deluxe Story Book available as part of the Kickstarter campaign, you can download a printable insert including the correct paragraph numbers here.
Do I have to become a Shade?
Can the Shades change their bet after Second Sight is used?
Can healing potions or the Ancient Amulet revive characters?
When a character is left behind, do all of their items and artefacts also get discarded?
Statuses & Skills
Do statuses stack alongside other skill modifiers?
Can boosts allow my character to access new skills?
When the bard is soul-bound, how much damage should they take?
How do I revive a character using the Arcane Ritual?
Do you have a question not answered above? We're always look to improve, so please get in touch at firstname.lastname@example.org and let us know!